Sign in | Join AGCAS

New TEF grading leaves institutions and opinions divided

Following much anticipation in the HE sphere the results of the 2017 Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) have now been released. In total 134 UK universities and other higher education institutions have been awarded gold, silver or bronze ratings for the quality of their teaching. A total of 295 universities, colleges and alternative providers of higher education volunteered to take part in the first year of the framework, however, many did not have enough data to qualify for an award.    

The awards were presented as follows:  

•   Gold – 45 institutions  
•   Silver  – 67 institutions
•   Bronze - 25 institutions    

The TEF was introduced by David Cameron’s government in a bid to gain further evidence about teaching and learning in UK universities, which can be utilised by perspective applicants.  

For the full list of institution results please view the HEFCE website.  

Tags: TEF AGCAS teaching excellence framework (TEF) University

Created on: 22 June 2017

Last updated: 22 June 2017

Share this with

All Articles

Related communities

Quick Text Search

Tag Search

© Association of Graduate Careers Advisory Services 2017